Wait, what? As I was talking to my mom on the phone earlier, she mentioned that she talked to her BFF from long ago who I met at my great-grandmother’s 100th birthday back in June. They were talking about how my siblings and I have handled my Dad’s passing. Susan (my mom’s BFF) said “Avery will be fine. That girl has moxie and she’s sassy.” The first words out of my mouth were, “What’s moxie?” My mother, being the my mother said “Look it up, dumbass.” The definition of moxie is aggressive energy and the ability to face difficulty with spirit and courage. BAM! Not to toot my own horn or anything but that sums me up pretty well. My mom has always said that I have the ability to get a room’s attention more than my sister or my brother even though I’m the smallest person in the room. That’s funny because I’ve always let my sister and my brother take the reigns in terms of attention. My sister is a cheerleading star. My sister has always been front and center on every cheer team she has been on. I was good but never as good as her. I was always the better coach, she was the one everyone aspired to be. She beat me in class rank, SAT score, and she was Homecoming Queen. The girl has it all and I’ve always been the one with the camera ready to capture the moment (like my Dad). Will is an athletic superstar. He plays football, he wrestles, he plays soccer. No matter what field he plays on, he is the center of attention. He is also one of the most popular kids in school (more popular than me or my sister EVER were). I’ve always been there cheering him on whether it was in sports or academics. 

As for me, I’m quirky to say the least. I know really random facts about the entertainment industry (like, did you know that Spielberg, Dustin Hoffman, and Robin Williams didn’t receive salaries from the movie Hook? Yeah, me either.). I bitch about stuff. Anything really. As I now say “If you don’t have something bitch about, your life is boring.” I’ve always wondered where I stood in comparison to my brother and sister…but now I’m starting to see it. 

I have moxie. I have sass. BAM. Get at me. For a girl that’s barely tall enough to ride roller coaster, I’m pretty front-and-center. 

