The Two Couples That Started It All

Yeah, yeah. I know what you’re thinking. The O.C. Really? Yes, my friend, yes. These two couples really got me interested in massive amounts of teen T.V. I had watched soap operas like General Hospital since I was tiny. I’ll get into that later (let’s just say I was into vampires a.k.a Port Charles BEFORE it was cool…hello, Michael Easton and Kelly Monaco’s chemistry is INSANE) I was like 11 when The O.C. first came out. It felt so dangerous. It was ‘teen’ soap opera. I felt like a bad-ass. I got so addicted to it and at first I couldn’t figure out why I loved the show so much. It wasn’t the crazy good-looking guys and their rock-hard abs (Chris Carmack, that’s for you). Captain Oats was indeed a big part of it. Don’t judge. Then I realized it was the fact that I loved the scenes that had these four in it, more specifically Seth/Summer and Ryan/Marissa. The Seth/Ryan bromance is a whole other post that should be carefully thought over. I found myself rooting for these two couples…the first time I had ever done that. I loved the awkwardness of Seth and Summer and I yearned for more with the star-crossed lovers of Ryan and Marissa. That scene when Ryan carries Marissa off the streets of Tijuana…man that was good television. It was so unbelievably epic on so many levels. Their relationship was so raw and it fought hard against the cliche that it started as (rich girl falling for the bad boy on the wrong side of the tracks). I was pretty devastated when Marissa was killed off but her death scene was truly poetic and that Imogen Heap song had me BAWLING. The Ryan/Marissa relationship just so sharply contrasted the Seth/Summer one and I think that’s why I loved the show so much. Seth and Summer were just so adorable and real. I loved their light-heartedness…Rachel Bilson and Adam Brody’s chemistry was just so believable. I think of all the characters on the show, Seth was my favorite. Okay, yes, he definitely was my favorite. Anyways, these two couples really got me addicted to T.V. Was I a little depressed when it got cancelled. Absolutely. Did I like more than One Tree Hill at the time. Absolutely. Was it underrated. Absolutely. I could literally write on and on about this show but I will bring it to a close. Plus, this show really made me want to live in California and become a Newpsie. And their music choices were IMPECCABLE.

This was one of my favorite quotes EVER:
Marissa: So, what do you think of Newport?
Ryan: I think I could get in less trouble where I’m from.
Marissa: You have no idea.

